Remember how my new book goal for this year is to read 24 novels? Well that’s 2 books a month, but I only came up with 12. That means I need 12 more to reach my goal so get your recommendations ready! Here is my 2018 to be read list so far.

*contains affiliate links* My reading goal for 2018 is 24 books- so far I have 12 that I want to read. What do you recommend? I'll add some to my to be read list.
This post contains affiliate links. That means that if you click/make a purchase through those links I may make money off of it! Thanks for supporting brands that support A Pint-Sized Life!

Click the photos to shop/read more info!

1. Rich People Problems

This book has been on my TBR list forever now! I’ve had it since it came out (like August) and it just kept getting pushed back on my reading to dos. So far it’s hilarious! Here and here are the first two of the series and the movie is bound to be good!

2. Code Name Verity

According to several of my former teachers, this is a must read! It’s about two girls who happen to be British spies. Their plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France and one of them, named ‘Verity’ is captured and forced to confess her plans or face a horrible execution.

Related:  10 rom-coms you may have forgotten about

3. Magpie Murders

This particular book has been on my Amazon wishlist for a good while now. It’s about a manuscript editor who reads the latest work from a troubled author and is convinced that there is another story of jealousy, greed, ambition and murder interwoven in this manuscript.

4. Final Girls

I’ve heard nothing but RAVE reviews for this one so I can’t wait to finally read it. This is all about the ‘final girls’ sole survivors of horror-movie type massacres.

5. Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

This is going to be a movie produced by Reese Witherspoon! She has the best tastes in books, so this is a must read. Eleanor Oliphant is not exactly a social butterfly; she lives a totally isolated life which is fine for her. Until she meets Raymond and together they help Sammy, the three become unusual friends and Eleanor learns to open her heart.

6. Everything I Never Told You

How did I not hear about this before?! This book seems to be right up my alley. This is all about a Chinese-American family called the Lees and their favorite daughter, Lydia, who’s body is found the local lake. The balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together tumbles into chaos, forcing them to confront the long-kept secrets that have been slowly pulling them apart 

Related:  Nice is just a Place in France by The Betches

7. Little Fires Everywhere

From the same author who wrote ‘Everything I Never Told You’ comes this tale of the picture perfect Richardson family and the mother-daughter duo that rents a house from them and turns their world upside down.

8. Glass Houses

When a mysterious figure appears in Three Pines one cold November day,  the villagers are at first curious, then wary. Through rain and sleet, the figure stands unmoving, staring ahead. But when the figure vanishes overnight and a body is discovered, it falls to Armand Gamache to discover if a debt has been paid or levied.

9. The Woman in the Window

This book is perfect for readers of ‘Gone Girl’, ‘The Girl on the Train’ and ‘The Woman in Cabin 10’-it’s all about Anna Fox a NYC recluse and the family that moves into the house across the street. Anna sees something she shouldn’t, but was it real? This was the first book added to my to be read list!

10. Without Merit


The Voss family is anything but normal. Merit, one of the daughters, collects trophies she hasn’t earned and secrets her family forces her to keep. After she learns that the boy she loves is unavailable, Merit retreats deeper into herself. When she learns a terrible secret, Merit decides to shatter the family illusion.

Related:  2017 California Trip

11. Turtles All The Way Down

Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her best friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. Aza is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

12. One Of Us is Lying

Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club- in this story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.  On Monday, Simon died and on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

What’s on your 2018 to be read list?

Author: Alix Maza

Alix is a college student, Step Up Magazine contributor, wannabe author, blogger and a super girly-girl who loves dogs and is entirely too dependent on coffee.

But first, subscribe!
By signing up you'll get access to the resource library where the awesome freebies are.
* = required field
  • Nicole DaRosa

    Great list! I’m going to try to read more this year as well. Right now, I am in the middle of reading “No More Dirty Looks” by Siobhan O’Connor and Alexandra Spunt 🙂

  • Sara Montague Miller

    What a great goal! I used to read so much more before I became a mom, ha! Constantly trying to figure out how to get more books in. I’ve mostly read non-fiction lately, but since you’re doing novels, here are some novel recommendations: The Giver, A Prayer for Owen Meany, Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant, The Fault in Our Stars, Catcher in the Rye, Mrs. Dalloway, Kiss of the Spider Woman. Happy Reading!

  • Such a good list! I’ve been wanting to read Rich People Problems and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine!

  • Trish

    What a great list! I have not read Louise Penny but she is on my “to read” list too. One of my friends was just telling me about her books and said I need to read them in order. The Woman in the Window is on my “to read” list this year too!

  • Jenni L.

    I love book recommendations! I don’t have any of these on my list currently so I appreciate the fresh recs!

  • A bunch of these are on my to-read list too! I need to get moving on my list!

  • shootingstarsmag

    I want to read so many of these too like Eleanor Oliphant, Little Fires Everywhere, One of Us is Lying, Turtles (I do own it though!), Woman in the Window, and Magpie Murders. HOWEVER- you MUST read Code Name Verity. There is a companion novel after it too called Rose Under Fire. Both top favorites of mine.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

  • Oh wow, that last one sounds amazing! I’m putting it on my TBR list as well!

  • Miss ALK

    Rich People Problems sounds hilarious! I’m hoping to read a lot this year too, and I just started my first book of the year last night!

    xoxo A
    http://www.southernbelleintraining.com

  • Tami

    These seem like some pretty great books! 5 of these are on my TBR list too, haha. 🙂 I can’t wait to read The Woman in the Window!

  • For some reason I tend to stick to motivational books, but you list some great suggestions for when I want to try something new. I need to create a list!

  • Ashley Stephenson

    I really want to get back into reading! Maybe 2018 will be the year!

  • Ania Ropel-Sewielska

    I should really find more time for reading. This should be one of my New Year’s resolutions… I love reading so much! Thanks for reminding me that I DO need this “me” time and some distraction from the busy busy life…

  • Ohh, we share a lot of common books to be read this year! John Green’s “Turtles All the Way Down” was the last book I read in 2017, and I loved it! I hope you will, too! I’m currently reading “In Twenty Years” by Allison Winn Scotch, and I’m liking it so far.

  • I’ve been wanting to read Code Name Verity forever and should really move it up my list a bit. I have a ridiculous amount of books that I want to read this year, but haven’t sat down and figured out the “musts” yet. I should do that this weekend. For a recommendation, I would go with The Bear and the Nightingale. Such an amazing book!

  • Oooooh so many of these sound right up my alley! Totally adding The Woman in the Window as my next read— I love books like that and the story sounds great!

  • Amanda Schreiber

    I’m creating my must-read list now! Thanks for the suggestions 🙂

  • These sound really interesting. I just ordered a few books myself. One of my many goals this year is to read more.

  • I’m planning on reading 1 book a month this year, but I didn’t actually put together a list of which books I want to read. This will definitely help!

  • I really need to invest more time in reading!

  • One of Us is Lying looks really interesting! I’m more of a romance book fanatic. I have a huge to be read list. Lol. I’m wanting to read 100 books this year. I read almost that last year.

  • Amanda K

    I have heard so many good things about the “Gone Girl” books!

    xx,
    Amanda || http://www.fortheloveofglitter.com

  • I’ve heard good things about Code Name Verity, Eleanor Oliphant, and One of Us is Lying. A few books on my 2018 TBR are Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli, Bellewether by Susanna Kearsley, Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton, and Wintersong by S Jae-Jones. My goal is to read 65 books, and I have about 20 for sure books and then the rest will depend on my mood and what I feel like reading. Good luck with your goal!

    ~Marie @ Ramblings of a Daydreamer

  • This is such a great list of reads! I need to check some out – I’m trying to read more this year!

  • You’re going to love Little Fires Everywhere! I was hesitant about the book at first but ended up loving it. Turtles All The Way Down is on my TBR list for 2018 as well.

  • I’ve never read any of these, but they sound great!!

  • I love the books by Kevin Kwan!

  • My book goal is 50 this year – so I have 3-4 books I need to finish each month. Ahh! I am definitely going to have to check out Rich People Problems. I have several books on my to read list this year – Little Fires Everywhere is one of them as well! I would recommend Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. It’s my favorite!

  • Wow, what a great list and it’s only half of what you’re going to read! We will definitely check some of these out because we haven’t even made our list yet!

  • I haven’t read any of these yet! Good luck with hitting your goal this year!

  • This looks awesome! I might steal some of these for my own list, I’m planning to read a book a week this year!

  • Kaitlyn Fickle Killebrew

    So many great books on this list! I might have to check out a few of these myself!

  • Men without Women by Haruki Murakami! 🙂

    Love,
    Nikki
    http://www.runwaytoroad.com

  • I was just saying to myself I need to read more as I really do enjoy it. Thank you for the recommendations!

  • So many of these are on my list too! I’m reading Woman in the Window right now and I just bought Eleanor Oliphant!

    Kayla | kaylablogs.com

  • I have heard great thing about The Woman in the Window. I want to read it too1 Great list!

  • These sound SO good! I definitely need to read these – adding to my list!

  • Love these! Such a great list and definitely going to be picking these up!

  • ooh these all look so good!! my reading list is getting longer by the minute 😉

    xo
    Grace | miss-graciela.blogspot.com

  • Great recommendations! Some of these are on my 2018 TBR list as well. Excited to start chipping away at it!